The Sleepover Profiled in GroundZero

Cory, Tucci, Brock, and Sarah’s band The Sleepover was profiled in this weekend’s GroundZero entertainment section of the Lincoln Journal-Star.

Way to go, kids!

“I think it (The Sleepover) kind of sits in between Shacker and Robot. We have songs that are more driven and aggressive and then we have other songs that are really mellow and just really beautiful,” Tucci said. “I think we have a nice, full sound compared to some of the other bands that Cory and I have been in, where it’s been kind of lopsided sometimes.”

The Sleepover’s sound is a little bit pop and definitely rock, but there’s something about it that blends the two together in an obvious way, but not so obvious that you can give it a name.

“I like to be a little bit edgy. Not Prince edgy, but you know what I mean,” Kibler said.

They play Sunday night at Box Awesome, 815 “O” St., Lincoln NE, 18+, $5.

MFR will post their song “Built For It’ to Furious Instance… soon.

Songs of -h

MFR024-300-SongsofhCDcircle.jpg“Songs of -h” is a limited edition CD compilation of howie’s best music, selected with the help of MFR listeners. There are 100 copies, and this release will not be distributed digitally.

The compilation features three exclusive tracks:

  • A new acoustic recording of “Major & Minor,” made especially for “Songs of -h”
  • “Stop Walking (live),” an unreleased cut from howie&scott’s “Summer’s End” sessions
  • “Set You Ablaze” from Lone Prairie Records’ “Killers in the Nebraska Territory” compilation, never before available on Mr. Furious Records

In addition to the following tracks, “Songs of -h” comes in a handmade oragami case and includes two pages of liner notes from howie. All copies are hand-numbered and signed.

The material comes from howie’s MFR output including releases by Sally Ride, echoes, and howie&scott.

Contact howie via private message on this site if you need anything.  Replies can take several days; I apologize in advance.

Thanks for your support. -h

1- Snow is a Bear
2- J. Cougar Mellensong
3- Coast & Plains
4- New Slow Sea
5- What U Do 2 Me
6- Open Columns (acoustic)
7- Tired Chords (live)
8- Stop Walking (live)
9- Major & Minor (acoustic)
10- Set You Ablaze
11- Back in the Fire
12- The Picture Song
13- America Votes 2032
14- The Last Song

Project Update

  1. Songs of -h.  Tim and Jill are helping print & fold the oragami cases and liner notes today.  Make sure to come by 700 E 110th St. next Saturday, April 19, between 10 AM and 4 PM to hear howie&scott rocking out!
  2. I’ve finished vocals for 8 out of 10 “There is Something and not nothing” vocals!!!111  Matt has come over twice to work on drum parts, we have ideas for what he wants to do on most of the songs.  Closer and closer – I’m super-pumped to get this record OUT.
  3. No 5*C action yet, but we have a plan.  I’m anxious to hear what Joel’s been up to.
  4. Fifty Bears haven’t practiced in a while due to schedule-y stuff…  but Tim in Lincoln (of Rent Money Big fame) has recorded vocal ideas over all of our nine demo’d jams, and his stuff is sounding rad.  We’re going to have him down to KC soon to jam with us and talk about the logistics of living three hours apart.  If it’s possible, it’s easier with the vocalist being separate and being able to work back and forth with me in ProTools.
  5. -h

howie&scott SHOW – APRIL 19, KC

On my way home from evening activities last night, ScoMo called.  His blues band is playing at Blayney’s here in Kansas City April 18 and 19.  Did I want to hang out on Saturday (19)?

YES.  And it just so happens that I am playing an acoustic show that afternoon.

howie&scott at the KCSPUCC Craft Fair

10 AM – 4 PM (MAP), Saturday, April 19

Kansas City, MO, US

We’ll be playing off and on throughout the afternoon, tightrope-walking with no net.  We will play songs Scott has never played before.  We’ll play songs you’ve never heard before.  We’ll (attempt to!) play old stuff.  It will be fun.  If you’re around at 4, we can go have dinner together and hang out.  If you need a place to stay, I can probably help with that.
This will also be the release of “Songs of -h,” AKA the “howie comp.”  “Songs of -h” has fourteen of my best songs released on Mr. Furious Records, including several of your choices (the acoustic “Open Columns,” “New Slow Sea,” and “The Picture Song”).  It also includes three exclusive tracks: “Stop Walking (live)” from the h&s Summer’s End sessions, “Set You Ablaze” from Lone Prairie Records’ “Killers in the Nebraska Territory” murder ballad compilation, and a brand-new acoustic recording of “Major & Minor.”

The disc will be packaged in a handmade origami case, and come with two pages of liner notes with stories and background information I’ve never shared before about each song.  I’m limiting the release to 100 copies, hand-numbered and signed.

I suggest that folks make a $20-40 gift to help send two high-school-age friends of mine to Tijuana, Mexico in June, where we will build a simple but strong house for a family that doesn’t have one.  100% of your gift will go to the trip fund.  The trip cost, including construction materials and AMOR Ministries’ ground support team, is about $1100 per person.
“Songs of -h” will not be available digitally via Mr. Furious Records, and this will be the only opportunity to pick up the acoustic “Major & Minor” and the liner notes…  ever!

IF YOU DON’T EXPECT TO SEE ME IN PERSON during April or May, leave a comment on this post with your email address.  I will get in touch with you, let you know how you can make your gift toward the Mexico trip, and get a copy in the mail for you.

I am mega-excited about this.  I haven’t had my work printed on CDs since “signs.comets,” more than four years ago.  It’s a special project that came about in a sublime way for a great cause.  Thanks for your gifts of friendship, input, songwriting (Cory & Joel!), time, origami (Tim!), listening, and money.

Full tracklist:

Songs of -h

1. Snow is a Bear

2. J. Cougar Mellensong

3. Coast & Plains

4. New Slow Sea

5. What U Do 2 Me

6. Open Columns (acoustic)

7. Tired Chords (live)

8. Stop Walking (live)

9. Major & Minor (acoustic)

10. Set You Ablaze

11. Back in the Fire

12. The Picture Song

13. America Votes 2032

14. The Last Song